Interstate Healthcare Collaborative

November 3, 2022

The Honorable Chuck Schumer Senate Majority Leader S-221 The Capitol Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker of the House H-232 The Capitol Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Mitch McConnell Senate Minority Leader S-230 The Capitol Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Kevin McCarthy House Minority Leader H-204 The Capitol Washington, DC 20515

Dear Leader Schumer, Leader McConnell, Speaker Pelosi and Leader McCarthy:

As members of the Interstate Healthcare Collaborative and other healthcare leaders, we urge Congress to act to provide stability for health care providers by extending pandemic flexibilities to offer telehealth through 2024 while Congress determines how to permanently update these policies.

For background purposes, the Interstate Healthcare Collaborative is an organization comprised of health systems and associations that are committed to finding effective ways for healthcare organizations to work across state lines through licensure and health care related services, which include telehealth. Since the Collaborative's beginning nearly a decade ago, we have been at the forefront of advocating for the adoption of interstate health care related compacts. We continue to identify other areas where license compacts are necessary, such physician assistants and social workers, in order to increase patient access and to add value to communities we serve. We believe the telehealth flexibilities go hand in hand with the goal of providing access to care, including across state lines.

We appreciate the House and Senate leadership's interest in extending Medicare flexibilities that have been provided during the public health emergencies, such as telehealth. We respectfully request the House and Senate work together in an end-of-year package to provide stability on telehealth policy by extending Medicare and other flexibilities through the end of 2024. We believe the extension of flexibilities will increase access to care, especially for behavioral health services.

In addition to Medicare fee-for-service telehealth flexibilities, we also request a year end package to include:

- Extension of the Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS)'s Acute Hospital at Home program.
- Continuation of the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) in-person requirement waiver for prescribing of controlled substances via telehealth.

The COVID-19 public health emergency was most recently extended on October 13, 2022. The PHE automatically expires every 90 days unless proactively renewed by the Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). Secretary Becerra has promised to provide 60 days' notice prior to such expiration. While we appreciate the 60 days' notice, we would respectfully request more time to unwind the services. Though we ask for the flexibilities to become permanent, we urge Congress to remove this uncertainty before the new Congress convenes in January by extending flexibilities at least through the end of 2024.

Thank you for your consideration of our request.

Sincerely,

Advocate Aurora Health

Illinois, Wisconsin

Allina Health

Minnesota. Wisconsin

American Telemedicine Association

Washington, D.C.

ATA Action

Washington, D.C.

Bon Secours Mercy Health

Kentucky, Ohio, South Carolina, Virginia

Corewell Health

Michigan

Essentia Health

Minnesota, North Dakota, Wisconsin

Gundersen Health System

Iowa, Minnesota, Wisconsin

Healthcare Leadership Council

Washington, D.C.

Intermountain Health

Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Utah

Lifepoint Health

Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Michigan, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia,

Marshfield Clinic Health System

Michigan, Wisconsin

Mayo Clinic

Arizona, Florida, Minnesota

Mercv

Arkansas, Missouri, Oklahoma

Minnesota Medical Association

Minnesota

Missouri Hospital Association

Missouri

Montana Medical Association

Montana

North Dakota Hospital Association

North Dakota

North Dakota Medical Association

North Dakota

Oklahoma Hospital Association

Oklahoma

Providence

Alaska, California, Montana, New Mexico, Oregon, Texas, Washington

Rural Wisconsin Health Cooperative

Wisconsin

Sanford Health

Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota

SSM Health

Illinois, Missouri, Oklahoma, Wisconsin

Trinity Health

Alabama, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas

UnityPoint Health

Illinois, Iowa, Wisconsin

Utah Hospital Association

Utah

UW Health

Illinois, Wisconsin

Wisconsin Hospital Association

Wisconsin

CC: The Honorable Ron Wyden

The Honorable Charles Grassley The Honorable Richard Neal The Honorable Kevin Brady The Honorable Frank Pallone

The Honorable Cathy McMorris Rodgers