Winners of the ATA Annual Awards Recognized for Exemplary Achievements in Telehealth

Award categories include President’s Award for Innovation in Remote Healthcare, President’s Award for the Transformation of Healthcare Delivery, ATA Champion Award and ATA Woman of the Year Award


Arlington, VA – April 11, 2019. The ATA, the nation’s leading telehealth association, today announced the winners of this year’s annual awards that recognize exemplary achievements and individuals in the telehealth field. The awards will be presented at the ATA19 Annual Conference and Expo taking place at the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center in New Orleans on April 14-16, 2019.

“The winners of this year’s awards are doing amazing work and it’s wonderful to see the innovation and transformation that is happening in the Telehealth field” said Laurie Poole, Vice President, Clinical Innovation at the Ontario Telemedicine Network (OTN) and Chair of the ATA Awards Committee.

Award Categories and Winners

ATA Annual Conference Awards are given in four categories:

ATA President’s Award for Innovation in Remote Healthcare Award recognizes organizations that are making remarkable advances in telehealth, leading to innovative health applications and social services support at the individual or community level or removing barriers to implementation and adoption. This year’s winner is EYEmergencyMD, Inc., which provides acute ophthalmology care via web, phone or mobile app.

ATA President’s Award for the Transformation of Healthcare Delivery Award recognizes the leadership of an organization that incorporates virtual healthcare services as part of an initiative resulting in improved healthcare quality and value for a large population of patients. This year’s winner is South Carolina Telehealth Alliance (SCTA), a statewide collaboration of organizations that have joined forces to expand telehealth services across the state, giving all South Carolina residents access to quality healthcare, while effectively managing the cost of providing care.

ATA Champion Award recognizes an individual who has made significant contributions to ATA’s strategy to advocate for public policy changes that open payment support and provide regulatory relief. This year’s winner is Nathaniel M. Lacktman, JD, partner and healthcare lawyer with Foley & Lardner LLP, and chair of the firm’s national Telemedicine & Digital Health Industry Team.

ATA Woman of the Year Award recognizes a woman who exemplifies exceptional leadership and entrepreneurial qualities, who leads with strong business acuity and is lauded for her ability to recognize and empower future female leaders. This year’s winner is Jacqueline Nwando Olayiwola, MD, MPH, FAAFP, an Associate Clinical Professor in the University of California, San Francisco Department of Family and Community Medicine as well as family physician and the Chief Clinical Transformation Officer for RubiconMD, a leading provider of electronic consultations between primary care and specialty care providers.

ATA19 Annual Conference Awards will be presented at the ATA19 Leadership Dinner on Sunday, April 14. Information about the Leadership Dinner, award criteria, nominations, and past winners is available here.

About the ATA: The ATA is the only organization completely focused on advancing telehealth to ensure that every individual has access to safe, affordable, and effective healthcare when and where they need it. The organization represents a broad and inclusive member network of technology solution providers, healthcare delivery systems and payers, as well as partner organizations and alliances. Together, we are working to enhance the visibility of telehealth, promote responsible policy, and provide education and resources to help integrate virtual care into emerging value-based delivery models.