Advanced Practice Registered Nurse Compact

Advanced Practice Registered Nurse Compact

Compact Description

  • The Advanced Practice Registered Nurse Compact (APRN Compact) increases access to care, protects patient safety and reduces costs while supporting state of-the-art health care delivery.
  • The APRN Compact allows for APRNs with 2,080 hours or more of practice to have one multistate license in their home state, with the privilege to practice in other APRN Compact party states without obtaining additional licenses.
  • The compact also codifies uniform licensure requirements mirroring the national APRN Consensus Model to ensure applicants meet licensure standards for participation, facilitates the exchange of information between party states in the areas of APRN regulation and investigation whenever an issue arises and ensures that party states have the authority to hold an APRN accountable in meeting state practice laws.

What professions are included?

  • Advanced Practice Registered Nurses including certified nurse practitioners (NPs), certified registered nurse anesthetists (CRNAs), certified nurse midwives (CNMs) and clinical nurse specialists (CNS).

Compact States

  • As of Jan. 1, 2021, there are 0 states in the APRN Compact

Regulatory body for the occupation

  • The Compact is an agreement among states, with the APRN Compact Commission serving as the coordinating organization. The Commission is made up of representatives from each participating state.

Link to compact language

Compact status: Pending, will become active after 7 states

Compact contact information
Rebecca Fotsch,
Director, State Advocacy and Legislative Affairs, NCSBN
Phone: 312-535-3635


Download PDF of details.